Australian Open Fast Facts

(CNN) —  

Here’s a take a look at the Australian Open, certainly one of 4 competitions that make up the “Grand Slam” in skilled tennis. The different three are Wimbledon, the French Open and the US Open.

February 8-21, 2021 – The 109th Australian Open is scheduled to happen.

January 20-February 2, 2020 – The 108th version of the Australian Open takes place.

Novak Djokovic defeats Dominic Thiem within the men’s closing, to win a file eighth Australian Open title.

Sofia Kenin defeats Garbine Muguruza within the women’s closing, to win her first grand slam title.

Total prize money for 2021 is $71.5 million AUD.

Youngest winners – men’s singles – Ken Rosewall (18); women’s singles – Martina Hingis (16)

Oldest winners – men’s singles – Rosewall (37); women’s singles – Thelma Long (35)

Most consecutive singles wins – men’s – Roy Emerson (5) 1963-1967; women’s – Margaret Court (seven) 1960-1966

Most singles titles total – men’s – Djokovic (eight); women’s – Margaret Court (11)

1905 – The Australasian Championships are performed in Melbourne.

1927 – The identify is modified to the Australian Championships.

1954 – Thelma Long wins the Women’s Singles Championship at age 35, changing into the oldest feminine to take action.

1969 – The identify is modified to the Australian Open.

1972 – Ken Rosewall wins the Men’s Singles Championship at age 37, changing into the oldest male participant to win the Australian Open. Rosewall additionally holds the file for youngest champion, profitable at age 18 in 1953.

2001 – Begins paying men and women equal prize cash.

Source link
#Australian #Open #Fast #Facts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *